NIST lists 15 algorithms to compete for standard

The National Institute of Standards and Technology has selected 15 algorithms to
compete for the honor of being the federal government’s next encryption standard.

The Advanced Encryption Standard submissions from companies, scientific organizations
and individuals meet requirements the institute outlined in its September request for
proposals, NIST officials said.

NIST unveiled the candidate algorithms at its First Advanced Encryption Standard
Candidate Conference in Ventura, Calif., this month.

In 1977, the federal government adopted DES as the federal standard for encrypting
sensitive but unclassified data. But DES recently crumbled during an onslaught by
cryptographic specialists.

NIST has invited network experts to try their code-breaking tactics on the AES

Each of the 15 AES candidate algorithms supports key sizes of 128, 192, and 256 bits,
NIST officials said. Like DES, AES will be available for private-sector use on a
royalty-free basis.

Fifteen groups from around the globe submitted algorithms for the AES program:

For more information about the AES program, visit the NIST Web site at


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected