Bennett to lead security group

Bennett to lead security group

Senate Majority Leader Trent Lott (R-Miss.) last week appointed Sen. Robert Bennett (R-Utah) as chairman of the new Critical Infrastructure Protection Working Group.

The special Senate panel mirrors a cybersecurity team that House leaders established in February [GCN, March 6, Page 56].

Bennett, former chairman of the Senate Year 2000 Committee, and his co-chairmen, Sens. Spencer Abraham (R-Mich.) and Rick Santorum (R-Pa.), will coordinate and disseminate computer security information to Senate members.

Other members, all Republicans, are Sens. Phil Gramm and Kay Bailey Hutchison of Texas, Orrin Hatch of Utah, Jesse Helms of North Carolina, John McCain of Arizona, Frank Murkowski of Alaska, Pat Roberts of Kansas, Richard Shelby of Alabama, Bob Smith of New Hampshire, Ted Stevens of Alaska, Fred Thompson of Tennessee and John Warner of Virginia.

'Bill Murray, Tony Lee Orr and Shruti Dat'


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Records management is about to get harder

    New collaboration technologies ramped up in the wake of the pandemic have introduced some new challenges.

  • puzzled employee (fizkes/

    Phish Scale: Weighing the threat from email scammers

    The National Institute of Standards and Technology’s Phish Scale quantifies characteristics of phishing emails that are likely to trick users.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.