Mint's director steps down

Mint's director steps down

Philip N. Diehl late last month left his post as director of the Mint to take the helm of, the online division of jewelry retailer Zale Corp. Diehl will be president of and a senior corporate vice president of the Irving, Texas, company.

President Clinton in August nominated Jay W. Johnson to succeed Diehl. Johnson is currently the Agriculture Department's deputy assistant secretary for congressional affairs. His appointment requires confirmation by Congress.

Although Diehl's five-year appointment at the Mint ended last June, he said he stayed on to help ensure the success of the new golden $1 coin. The Mint began issuing the coins six weeks ago.

'Bill Murray, Tony Lee Orr and Shruti Dat'

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.