7 in IT win president's honors

7 in IT win president's honors

Among this month's 53 winners of the Presidential Rank Distinguished Executive Awards for 2000 were seven officials who work in information technology.

They are David Borland, vice director of Army information systems for command, control, communications and computers; Darleen A. Druyun, principal deputy assistant secretary of the Air Force for acquisition and management; Richard R. John, director of the Volpe National Transportation Systems Center; D. Dean Mesterharm, deputy commissioner for systems at the Social Security Administration; David J. O'Connor, deputy assistant administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency for administration and resource management; Paul Schneider, Navy principal deputy assistant secretary for research, development and acquisition; and G. Martin Wagner, associate administrator for governmentwide policy at the General Services Administration.

The complete list of Presidential Rank Award winners appears on the Office of Personnel Management's Web site, at www.opm.gov.

'Susan M. Menke, Kevin McCaney and Patricia Daukantas


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/Shutterstock.com)

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected