Feds OK five security test labs

Feds OK five security test labs

The National Information Assurance Partnership has accredited the first five independent laboratories to perform security testing under the international Common Criteria scheme.

NIAP is a joint program of the National Security Agency and the National Institute of Standards and Technology. The Common Criteria are standards for information technology security mutually recognized by the United States, Canada, France, Germany, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

The Common Criteria will replace the Trusted Computer System Evaluation Criteria, known as the Orange Book. Agencies must use commercial IT security products that have received Common Criteria evaluations by approved labs.

The labs accredited so far are the Criteria Assurance Formal Evaluation Laboratory of Coact Inc. of Columbia, Md.; a Computer Sciences Corp. lab in Hanover, Md.; CygnaCom Solutions Inc. of McLean, Va.; the Science Applications International Corp. Common Criteria Testing Laboratory in Columbia, Md.; and the IT Security Laboratory of TUViT Inc. of Austin, Texas.

'Patricia Daukantas, Susan M. Menke and William Jackson

inside gcn

  • AI government

    How can AI help government improve?

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group