Parker leads list of AFFIRM honorees

Parker leads list of AFFIRM honorees

The Association for Federal Information Resources Managers presented its annual Executive Leadership Awards at a luncheon recently in Washington.

Top left, Gloria R. Parker, chief information officer of the Housing and Urban Development Department, receives the group's top honor, the Executive Leadership in IRM Award.

Top right, Joseph Cipriano, program executive officer for Navy information technology, with wife Theresa, won the Leadership Award in Acquisition & Procurement.

Among other winners was Tony Trenkle, left, director of electronic services for the Social Security Administration and winner of the Leadership for Service to the Citizen Award, trading business cards with Boris de Souza of the Agriculture Department.

Other winners:

  • Lee Holcomb, NASA CIO, for Innovative Applications Leadership

  • Patricia McGinnis, president and chief executive officer of the Council for Excellence in Government, for Organizational Leadership in Government Information Technology

  • Donald Upson, Virginia's secretary of technology, for Legislative IT Leadership

  • Gary Maxam, director of acquisition services for the Defense Finance and Accounting Service, for E-Government Leadership.


  • business meeting (Monkey Business Images/

    Civic tech volunteers help states with legacy systems

    As COVID-19 exposed vulnerabilities in state and local government IT systems, the newly formed U.S. Digital Response stepped in to help. Its successes offer insight into existing barriers and the future of the civic tech movement.

  • data analytics (

    More visible data helps drive DOD decision-making

    CDOs in the Defense Department are opening up their data to take advantage of artificial intelligence and machine learning tools that help surface insights and improve decision-making.

Stay Connected