Here's who are calling the IT shots

Here's who are calling the IT shots

Six months into a new administration, federal IT leadership choices are nearly complete

It's been six months and a couple of days since the Bush administration moved into the White House, prompting the usual shake-up in agency leadership that comes with a changing of the guard.

So, who's who in government information technology today? What follows is a list of the top IT people in cabinet-level departments, agencies and other offices. Many names are familiar, but some are new. Notably, only a few chief information officer posts remain vacant.

  • Office of Management and Budget

    Associate director for IT and electronic government:
    Mark Forman
    OMB's associate director of IT and e-government Mark Forman
    Mark Forman

    Deputy administrator, Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs: Donald Arbuckle

    OIRA branch chief: Dan Chenok


  • Agriculture

    CIO: Ira L. Hobbs, acting

  • Commerce

    CIO: Tom Pyke, acting

    Deputy CIO: Karen Hogan, acting

  • Defense

    Assistant secretary for command, control, communications and intelligence, and CIO: Linton Wells II, acting

    Deputy CIO: Margaret Myers, acting

  • Air Force

    CIO: Lawrence J. Delaney

    Deputy CIO: John Gilligan

    Deputy CIO: Lt. Gen. John Woodward

  • Army

    Peter Cuviello
    Army Lt. Gen. Peter Cuviello
    CIO: Lt. Gen. Peter Cuviello

    Deputy CIO: David Borland

  • Navy

    CIO: Daniel E. Porter

    Deputy CIO: Ron Turner

  • Defense Information Systems Agency

    CIO: Shirley L. Fields

    Deputy CIO: Col. Michael F. Turner

  • Defense Logistics Agency

    CIO: Mae DeVincentis

  • Education

    CIO: Craig Luigart

    Deputy CIO: Richard Miller

  • Energy

    CIO: Howard Landon, acting

  • Health and Human Services

    CIO: Vacant

    Deputy CIO: Brian P. Burns

  • Housing and Urban Development

    CIO: Gloria Parker

    Deputy CIO for IT reform: Debra D. Stouffer

  • Interior

    Daryl W. White
    Interior CIO Daryl W. White
    CIO: Daryl W. White

    Deputy CIO: Sue Rachlin

  • Justice

    Assistant attorney general for administration, CIO: Janis Sposato, acting

    Deputy assistant attorney general and deputy CIO: Linda Burek

  • Labor

    CIO: Patrick Pizzella

    Deputy CIO for information: Laura Callahan

  • State

    CIO: Ferdando Burbano

    Deputy CIO for architecture, planning and regulation: Roy A. Standing

  • Treasury

    CIO: James Flyzik

    Deputy CIO: Mayi Canales

    Director of IT policy and strategy: Jane Sullivan

  • Transportation

    CIO: Vacant

    Deputy CIO: Eugene K. Taylor Jr.

  • Veterans Affairs

    CIO: Guy McMichael, acting


  • Agency for International Development

    CIO: Richard Nygard

    Deputy CIO: Peter Benedict

  • CIA

    CIO: Alan Wade

    Deputy CIO: Douglas J. Naquin

  • Environmental Protection Agency

    Assistant administrator and CIO: Margaret N. Schneider, acting

    Deputy CIO: Mark Day

  • FBI

    Assistant director for information resources: Bob E. Dies

  • Federal Communications Commission

    CIO: Ronald Stone

  • Federal Emergency Management Agency

    CIO: G. Clay Hollister

    Deputy CIO: Dennis DeWalt

  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

    CIO: Fernanda Young

  • Federal Trade Commission

    CIO: Keith Golden, acting

  • General Accounting Office

    Director for IT management issues: David J. McClure

  • General Services Administration

    CIO: Michael W. Carleton

    Deputy CIO: Susan C. Chu

    Associate administrator for governmentwide policy: G. Martin Wagner

  • NASA

    Lee Holcomb
    NASA CIO Lee Holcomb
    CIO: Lee Holcomb

    Deputy CIO: David B. Nelson

  • National Archives and Records Administration

    Deputy archivist and chief of staff: Lewis J. Bellardo

  • National Institute of Standards and Technology

    CIO: William O. Mehuron, acting

  • National Science Foundation

    CIO: Linda Massaro

  • National Security Agency

    CIO: Richard G. Turner

  • National Transportation Safety Board

    Chief of IT: Linda Harradine

  • Nuclear Regulatory Commission

    CIO: Stuart Reiter

    Deputy CIO: Jacqueline Silber

  • Office of Personnel Management

    CIO: Janet Barnes

  • Postal Service

    Vice president for information systems: Richard D. Weirich

  • Securities and Exchange Commission

    Executive director of information: Michael Eric Bartell

  • Small Business Administration

    CIO: Lawrence Barrett

  • Social Security Administration

    CIO: Marsha Rydstrom, acting


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected