People on the Move

President Bush has named Mark Forman, the Office of Management and Budget's associate director for IT and e-government, to be administrator of the White House Office of E-Government.

The E-Government Act of 2002 required that OMB create the office, though Forman's job likely will change little.

William M. Bristow II, until recently the CIO and associate commissioner for IRM at the Food and Drug Administration, has joined Decision Systems Technologies Inc. of Bethesda, Md., as senior vice president for advanced programs.

Before becoming technology chief at FDA, Bristow was CIO of the Forest Service. In 2000, he received a Presidential Meritorious Rank Award.

Bradford W. Parkinson, who was program director in the 1970s for the Defense Department's original Global Positioning System architecture, is a co-winner of the 2003 Charles Stark Draper Prize.

The National Academy of Engineering presented the award last month at a ceremony in Washington to Parkinson and Ivan A. Getting, president emeritus of the Aerospace Corp. of El Segundo, Calif.

Parkinson, recognized as the chief architect of GPS, created and ran DOD's NAVSTAR GPS Joint Program Office from 1972 to 1978. Since 1984, he has taught and conducted research at Stanford University. In the 1950s, Getting envisioned a satellite system that could be used to pinpoint locations on Earth, and he subsequently pushed for the development of GPS.

James Flyzik, former Treasury Department CIO and special adviser to the White House's Homeland Security Office, has been named chairman of the Information Technology Association of America's Homeland Security Task Group. Flyzik left government in December and formed the new consulting firm of Guerra, Kiviat & Flyzik.

The Federal Library and Information Center Committee has named the Army's Ann Parham federal librarian of the year. Her award noted her excellence in the management of the worldwide Army Library Program and her work on the restoration of the Pentagon Library after Sept. 11, 2001.

The federal library technician of the year is Reginald A. Stewart of the U.S. Army Library in Glessen, Germany, for his efforts to create outreach services for children.

The Homer E. Newell Library at NASA Goddard Space Flight Center in Greenbelt, Md., won library of the year in the large-library category'those with a staff of 11 or more federal or contract employees. The James A. Haley Veterans' Hospital Library in Tampa, Fla., won in the small-library category.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected