Leadership selected for new cybersecurity panel

Leaders have been named for the new House Homeland Security subcommittee on Cybersecurity, Science and Research and Development.

Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-Texas) will chair the subcommittee and the ranking minority member is Rep. Zoe Lofgren (R-Calif.)

Thornberry also is a member of the Armed Services, Budget and Resources committees.

The Homeland Security Committee was formed to coordinate all House oversight of the Homeland Security Department and has legislative jurisdiction over the 2002 act creating the department. It is chaired by Rep. Christopher Cox (R-Calif.)

The Cybersecurity, Science and R&D subcommittee will oversee 'security of computer, telecommunications, information technology, industrial control, electric infrastructure and data systems, including science, research and development; protection of government and private networks and computer systems from domestic and foreign attack; prevention of injury and civilian populations and physical infrastructure caused by cyberattack, and relevant oversight,' according to Cox's office.

About the Author

William Jackson is a Maryland-based freelance writer.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/Shutterstock.com)

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected