GCN photo gallery: E-biz leaders secure awards

GCN photo gallery: E-biz leaders secure awards<@VM>Bonner gets Transformation Award<@VM>Sanford, Haycock accept Transformation on behalf of team<@VM>Wheelock, Kroop take Citizen Service<@VM>Kelly lands leadership award<@VM>Sullivan, Little take Leadership for team<@VM>Wethington, Holcomb feted for EA<@VM>Pioneer goes West<@VM>Thomas named a Pioneer<@VM>Dodd, Roberts share award<@VM>Kadakia holds that thought<@VM>Roback accepts for team<@VM>Harrington gets Architects honor

The CIO Advisory Board and Awards Committee in April honored a broad range of government programs with 2003 SecurE-Biz awards at a ceremony in Arlington, Va.

The awards recognize programs that have helped further e-business transformation, one of the key goals of the President's Management Agenda.

The awards program is organized by the CIO Council, ICHnet.org, the Industry Advisory Council and the Council for Excellence in Government. Mark Forman, the Office of Management and Budget's associate director for IT and e-government-who also received the President's E-Business Transformation Award-handed out the awards, along with Dave McClure of the Council for Excellence in Government and John Weiler of ICHnet.org.

Click on the page numbers above to see pictures of the award winners.

All photographs taken by GCN photographer Olivier Douliery.
Debbie Bonner of the Defense Medical Logistics Standards Support Program's TRICARE management activity, accepts an e-Business Tranformation Award for her team from OMB's Mark Forman, standing with Dave McClure of the Council for Excellence in Government, left, and John Weiler of ICHnet.org.

Other teams members were Col. Dan Magee program manager of DMLSS; Lt. Col. Ralph Sees; director of the Joint Medical Logistics Development Center; Lt. Col. Ken Darling, deputy program manager of the DMLSS program office; Col. Don Buchwald, director of the Medical Material Defense Supply Center-Philadelphia, and Kathleen Garvin, Chief I&I Branch Defense Supply Center-Philadelphia.

Lew Sanford, left, GSA e-government program manager, and Bob Haycock, chief architect for the Solutions Architects Working Group, accept the e-Business Transformation Award on behalf of their team, which also included Norman Lorentz, chief architect of the Federal Enterprise Architecture Program Management Office, and Jim Benson, FEAPMO vendor support.
Amy Wheelock, chief of the Homeland Security Department's investment review branch, and Karl Kroop of Science Applications International Corp., were among the winners of the Citizen Service Award. Other team members were William McElhaney of HSD and Edward M. O'Neill of SAIC.
Dr. Brian Kelly, a Navy captain with the Military Health System and the TRICARE Management Activity, displays his Leadership in Enterprise Architecture award.
John Sullivan, chief architect for the Environmental Protection Agency and Pat Little, chief architect for SRA International Inc., were members of an EPA team that won a Leadership in Enterprise Architecture award. Also on the team were EPA's CIO Kim Nelson and chief technology officer Mary Day.
Gerry Wethington, Missouri's CIO, and Lee Holcomb, chief technology officer for the Homeland Security Department, were among those honored for the First National Enterprise Architecture Initiative.
Barry West, president of the Federation of Government Information Processing Councils and National Weather Service CIO, won a Pioneer Award.
Rob Thomas, Air Force assistant deputy chief of staff for Warfighting Integration, was a Pioneer Award winner.
John Dodd and Davis Roberts, two of the three co-chairs of the Industry Advisory Council's Enterprise Architecture Shared Interest Group, received the Thought Leadership team award. Venkat Puvvada is the other co-chair.

Roopangi Kadakia, director of systems for security and technology at the General Services Administration, holds her Thought Leadership Award.
Ed Roback, chief of the National Institute of Science and Technology's Computer Security Division, received the CyberSecurity Team Award, along with Glen Schlarman, associate CIO for security at the Energy Department; Kamala White, IT policy analyst for OMB; Kim Johnson, chief of IT security technology policy for OMB, and Sallie McDonald, director of the Federal Computer Incident Response Center.
Transportation Security Administration chief architect Keith Herrington displays his Architects Award.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/Shutterstock.com)

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected