What's where at Homeland Security

As part of the federal government's response to the 2001 terrorist attacks, the Homeland Security Department on March 1 absorbed nearly 180,000 employees from a variety of agencies and offices.

The chart below details what agencies went where in DHS.

DHS has five directorates: Border and Transportation Security (BTS), Emergency Preparedness and Response (EPR), Information Analysis and Infrastructure Protection (IAIP), Management, and Science and Technology (ST). Some components of DHS, such as the Coast Guard and Secret Service, are not part of a directorate.

On top of the changes at DHS, Treasury's Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco and Firearms was split up. Part of ATF moved to Justice and became the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives. The part that remained in Treasury is now the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/Shutterstock.com)

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected