GAO updates IT management framework

The General Accounting Office yesterday released its updated IT Investment Management (ITIM) Framework, giving agencies a road map to improve how IT managers make technology decisions.

This is the first revision of the framework in nearly four years. Examiners have said more than 17 agencies have adopted some parts of the framework (Click for May 5, 2003, GCN story).

GAO continued to divide sound IT management maturity into five stages but made significant changes to Stages 2 and 3, officials said. The five stages of maturity include:

  • Creating investment awareness

  • Building an investment foundation that includes an investment board, improved oversight and collection of agencywide data

  • Developing a complete investment portfolio. The agency should define the portfolio's criteria and review new systems after they are implemented

  • Improving the investment process by managing the progression of systems and setting portfolio performance goals

  • Using IT to change business processes and get the most return out of the investment process.

  • The new version also includes a better description of how the framework relates to enterprise architecture. Examiners said using the ITIM guidance and EA will 'increase the chances that an organization's operational and IT environments will be pursued in a way that optimizes mission performance.'

    Stay Connected

    Sign up for our newsletter.

    I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.