Symantec firewall component receives certification

The firewall engine of Symantec Corp.'s Gateway Security 5400 appliance has received Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4 certification.

The Common Criteria are standards for evaluating security software against vendor claims and user requirements. Evaluation is done by approved private laboratories and is recognized by 14 nations.

In the United States, the National Information Assurance Partnership, a collaboration between the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the National Security Agency, oversees the program.

The Defense Department requires Common Criteria certification for security products, and civilian agencies demand it for national security systems.

Symantec Corp. of Cupertino, Calif., received certification last month for the firewall component for its Gateway Security 5400 Series Version 2.0.

In addition to its firewall function, the hardware-based gateway does intrusion detection and prevention, content filtering and virtual private networking, and has antivirus antispam applications. The certification applies only to the firewall module.

The evaluated product is an IP application proxy and packet-filtering firewall which scans all network traffic and can operate at speeds of up to 1.8 Gbps, depending on system configuration and the functions in use.

About the Author

William Jackson is a Maryland-based freelance writer.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected