Franke award presented to Bates

PHILADELPHIA-In nearly 33 years in the federal government, Sandra Bates has rarely been surprised or shocked, but last night she was both.

The commissioner of the General Services Administration's Federal Technology Service received one of the top honors from her peers when the American Council for Technology gave Bates the John J. Franke award.

The award is given to federal technology employees who exhibit leadership, dedication and long-term contribution to federal service.

'This is the highest honor I've ever received,' said Bates at the 24th annual Management of Change Conference sponsored by ACT. 'And if one is known by the company they keep, I'm certainly honored again.'

Bates joins GSA's associate administrator for governmentwide policy Martin Wagner, Agriculture Department deputy CIO Ira Hobbs, former Army deputy CIO Dave Borland and former Treasury Department CIO Jim Flyzik as winners of this award.

Hobbs, who won last year, said during his introduction of Bates that she embodied the word distinguished in the service she has given.

'Sandy is a government executive known for delivering results,' Hobbs said. 'She is highly respected at the highest levels of government and industry.'

Bates started in government as an entry-level telecommunications specialist and moved up through the ranks, working at GSA and NASA.

At FTS, she manages 1,500 employees and $9 billion worth of telecommunications and IT purchases.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards -

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected