People on the Move

Ira Hobbs

The Senate Governmental Affairs Committee last week approved the nomination of David Safavian to become the new Office of Federal Procurement Policy administrator.

The full Senate must now confirm Safavian, who would replace Angela Styles. She left last September to return to private legal practice.

Safavian, the former General Services Administration chief of staff, has been on loan to OFPP since November, when President Bush nominated him to the position.

The Treasury Department named Ira Hobbs its new CIO, effective June 13.

Hobbs, the Agriculture Department deputy CIO for the past seven years, will oversee the Treasury's $2.6 billion IT portfolio, including IRS' troubled business systems modernization. He co-chairs the Federal CIO Council Workforce and Human Capital for IT Committee, which works to improve the recruitment, retention and skills of the federal IT workforce.

Carin Barth has been nominated to be the chief financial officer of the Housing and Urban Development Department. She currently is president of LB Capital Inc. of Houston. She also serves on the board of directors for Southwest Bank of Texas.

Ron Miller, the Small Business Administration's program executive officer for
e-government, recently accepted a position with SRA International Inc. of Fairfax, Va.

Miller started his federal work three years ago as the Federal Emergency Management Agency's CIO, moved to the White House Homeland Security Transition Planning Office and has spent the last 14 months directing SBA's e-government work. He will leave SBA July 2 and start at SRA as a principal July 12.

The president intends to designate F. Duane Ackerman, chairman and CEO of BellSouth Corp., as chairman of the National Security Telecommunications Advisory Committee. Ackerman currently is the advisory committee's vice chairman.

Moving into the vice chairwoman position will be committee member Patricia F. Russo, president and CEO of Lucent Technologies Inc. of Murray Hill, N.J.

NSTAC is a committee of up to 30 presidentially appointed industry executives, usually chief executive officers, created in 1982, to provide industry-based advice to the president on issues of national security and emergency preparedness communications policy.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards -

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected