Council releases service component white paper

The CIO Council yesterday defined the different types of system components that will let agencies share technology more easily

In a white paper (PDF) on service component base architecture, the Architecture and Infrastructure Committee detailed five different types of components ranging from a set of system components to an object-oriented programming language component.

'Successful service-oriented, component-based architectures will greatly serve the needs of the federal community as the community works to ensure IT capabilities are managed in a structured enterprisewide technology and business process lifecycle,' the paper said.

The architecture committee also identified the components that offer the best return on investment for agencies, the desired features of the components, and how they are used and reused within a variety of architectural implementations.

'The purpose of this paper is to inform agency thinking on development and use of enterprise architecture in a manner consistent with service component sharing and reuse and the objectives of the Federal Enterprise Architecture,' said Karen Evans, Office of Management and Budget's administrator for e-government and IT, and Dan Matthews, CIO Council vice chair and Transportation Department CIO, in a memo to CIOs.

Evans and Matthews added that the components should help reduce agency costs and aid in the rapid development and deployment of e-government systems.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected