CIO Council defines service components

The CIO Council last week defined the different types of system components that will let agencies share technology more easily.

In a white paper on service component base architecture, the Architecture and Infrastructure Committee detailed five different types of components, ranging from a set of system components to an object-oriented programming language component.

The architecture committee also identified the components that offer the best return on investment for agencies, the desired features of the components, and how they are used and reused within a variety of architectural implementations.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards -

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected