Frist shuffles Senate committee assignments

Frist shuffles Senate committee assignments

Senate Majority Leader Bill Frist has announced proposed changes in committee chairmanships and memberships for the 109th Congress.

The committee assignments are subject to approval by the Republican conference. A spokesman for the Tennessee Republican said a vote by the conference would take place shortly after President's Bush's Jan. 20 inauguration.

The following chairmanships would change:

  • Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry: Sen. Saxby Chambliss (Ga.) to replace Sen. Thad Cochran (Miss.)

  • Appropriations: Cochran to replace Sen. Ted Stevens (Alaska)

  • Commerce, Science and Transportation: Stevens to replace Sen. John McCain (Ariz.)

  • Health, Education, Labor and Pensions: Sen. Michael Enzi (Wyo.) to replace Sen. Judd Gregg (N.H.)

  • Judiciary: Sen. Arlen Specter (Pa.) to replace Sen. Orrin Hatch (Utah)

  • Indian Affairs: McCain to replace retired Sen. Ben Nighthorse Campbell (Colo.)

  • Veterans' Affairs: Sen. Larry Craig (Idaho) to replace Specter

  • Aging: Sen. Gordon Smith (Ore.) to replace Craig.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected