OMB picks 14 experts for acquisition panel

Fourteen well-known and highly regarded acquisition experts will hold the first meeting of the Services Acquisition Advisory Panel Feb. 9 in Washington.

The E-Government Act of 2002 instructed the Office of Management and Budget to create the panel to provide recommendations by February 2006 on how agencies could better contract for services. The panel will examine use of commercial practices, performance-based contracting and governmentwide contracts.

The first meeting, announced in the Federal Register late last month, will be for organizational purposes only, the notice said.

OMB earlier this week announced the panel members:

  • Louis M. Addeo, president, AT&T Government Solutions of Vienna, Va.

  • Frank J. Anderson, president, Defense Acquisition University

  • Allan V. Burman, president, Jefferson Consulting Group of Washington and former administrator for the Office of Federal Procurement Policy

  • Carl DeMaio, president of the Performance Institute of Arlington, Va.

  • Marshall J. Doke, partner, Gardere Wynne Sewell LLP, a Houston law firm

  • David Drabkin, deputy associate administrator for acquisition policy, General Services

  • Jonathan Etherton, vice president legislative affairs, Aerospace Industries Association of
    America Inc., and former staff member of the Senate Armed Services Committee

  • James A. Hughes, deputy general counsel for acquisition, Air Force

  • Deidre A. Lee, director for defense procurement and acquisition policy

  • Tom Luedtke, assistant administrator for procurement, NASA

  • Marcia G. Madsen, partner, Mayer, Brown, Rowe and Maw LLP of Chicago, and past chairwoman of the American Bar Association section of public contract law

  • Melanie R. Sabelhaus, deputy administrator, Small Business Administration

  • Joshua I. Schwartz, professor of law and co-director of the Government Procurement Law Program, George Washington University Law School in Washington

  • Roger D. Waldron, director, Acquisition Management Center, GSA.

Madsen will serve as chairwoman and Laura Auletta, chairwoman of the Civilian Agency Acquisition Council, will be the executive director, OMB said.

'We look forward to receiving the panel's recommendations on effective ways to improve government contracting,' said David Safavian, administrator for the Office of Federal Procurement Policy.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.