SUSE Linux wins Common Criteria certification

SUSE Linux wins Common Criteria certification

Atsec Information Security of Austin, Texas, has awarded the first-ever Level 4 Common Criteria certification to a Linux distribution, the security services firm announced this week.

Novell Inc.'s SUSE Linux Enterprise Server 9 running on IBM Corp.'s eServers has passed the Controlled Access Protection Profile under Common Criteria for Information Security Evaluation, or CAPP/EAL4+.

The certification should put Novell and IBM 'on top of the list when it comes to projects the government wants to do,' said Novell CEO Jack Messman at the LinuxWorld Conference and Expo, held this week in Boston.

Red Hat Enterprise Linux is also undergoing evaluation, according to officials at Red Hat Inc. of Raleigh, N.C. Microsoft Corp.'s Windows 2000 operating system won Level 4 Common Criteria certification in 2002.

Common Criteria is a set of globally recognized standards for measuring the security of a piece of software. EAL levels run from 1 to 7, with 7 being the most rigorous.

In addition to Common Criteria certification, the IBM and Novell pairing has also achieved Common Operating Environment compliance, a Defense Department requirement for assuring IT equipment is interoperable.

About the Author

Joab Jackson is the senior technology editor for Government Computer News.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.