How the winners were chosen

GCN's IT Leadership Award winners were selected from among 84 candidates nominated by colleagues, co-workers and, in some cases, bosses.

It was a strong field, which made the process enlightening, if difficult, for our panel of judges. This year's winners were chosen by a panel of current and former federal IT leaders and industry executives, and PostNewsweek Tech Media editors.

Members of the panel included Kathleen Adams, vice president and deputy director of health systems at SRA International Inc. of Arlington, Va., and former assistant deputy commissioner for systems at the Social Security Administration; Judith Douglas, vice president for leadership and performance at the Council for Excellence in Government; James Flyzik, a partner with Guerra, Kiviat, Flyzik and Associates Inc. of Oak Hill, Va., and former Treasury Department CIO; David McClure, a director in Gartner Inc.'s global public sector research group and former director of IT management issues for the Government Accountability Office; Elizabeth McDaniel, dean of faculty and academic programs for the Information Resources Management College at the National Defense University; and Patrick Schambach, former CIO of the Transportation Security Administration.

This year's awardees will be honored May 11 at a luncheon at the Mayflower Hotel in Washington.

inside gcn

  • high performance computing (Gorodenkoff/

    Does AI require high-end infrastructure?

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group