Solaris 10 submitted for Common Criteria

Sun Microsystems has submitted Soalris 10, its general purpose operating system, for Common Criteria evaluation, and is planning a new product next year that will elevate the system to the same level of security as Trusted Solaris.

Trusted Solaris has the functionality of Solaris 8, said Mark Thacker, product line manager for Solaris security. When Solaris 10 is through the Common Criteria evaluation process, in nine to 12 months, Sun will have a new product called Trusted Extensions that will add more security to it, making it an up-to-date version of the older Trusted Solaris.

Trusted Extensions will be released in the second quarter of 2006, he said, and the company expects to have it already into the Common Criteria process by the time it's released. Whether it will be available as part of the operating system, as a separate add-on or some combination has not yet been decided, he added.

The company has had some degree of security certification in its operating systems since 1991, Thacker said.

'Sun views Common Criteria as not just something that we have to do, [but] something that we want to do," he said. "It is, and always has been, a differentiator for us.'

Recently, Red Hat announced that the next version of its Linux distribution has begun the evaluation process.

Thacker said that Sun's experience and history with the security classifications sets it apar from Red Hat and many other potential competitors. But, he said, Common Criteria is increasingly critical for comapnies that plan to sell to the government.

'It makes a big difference to the acceptance of the product," he said. "In the U.S. in particular, government customers like to buy products that vendors are willing to commit to Common Criteria certifcation on. You can commit to committing to it, or you can say "let's go put the product into evaluation.'

About the Author

Technology journalist Michael Hardy is a former FCW editor.

inside gcn

  • Google Map of free sandbags in Los Angeles

    When simple is best: Google Maps for disaster prep

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group