State CIO association picks new leaders for 2006

Matt Miszewski, Wisconsin's chief information officer, has been elected to serve as the 2005-06 president of the National Association of State Chief Information Officers, the organization announced this week.

Miszewski replaces Delaware CIO Tom Jarrett, who served as the Lexington, Ky.-based association's president last year. Miszewski's goal for next year is to prepare NASCIO for the next wave of government IT projects, which he sees as adding value to government services and not just containing costs.

'The challenge is to think about everything brand new,' Miszewski said in an interview this week, '[and] to stop thinking about things the way they are, and to start thinking about making things the way we want them to be.'

The membership also elected new officers and directors for the organization. The new officers include Michigan CIO Teresa Takai as vice president and Nevada CIO Terry Savage as secretary/treasurer.

The new directors are Steve Dawson, New Jersey CIO; Otto Doll, South Dakota CIO; Denise Moore, Kansas CIO; and Tom Wade, Georgia CIO. The returning directors are Larry Biggio, Wyoming CIO; John Gillispie, Iowa CIO; and Gary Robinson, Washington CIO

Separately, NASCIO's Corporate Leadership Council re-elected Pat Cummens from Environmental Systems Research Institute Inc. of Redlands, Calif., as its 2005-06 chairwoman. The council also re-elected Rick Webb from Accenture Ltd. of Hamilton, Bermuda, to serve as vice chairman.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected