The community: IAC and ACT awards

Marcella Banks said she was both surprised and honored last week when she found out she had won the Industry Advisory Council/American Council for Technology award named after her longtime friend, the late Janice Mendenhall. Banks, assistant regional administrator for the Federal Technology Service's Southwest Region, has been in government for 48 years, the first 10 with the Air Force, the last 38 with GSA. She worked with Mendenhall for more than 20 years, until Mendenhall's death in 2001.

Past winners of the Janice K. Mendenhall Spirit of Leadership award include former GSA employees Virginia McCormick and Sandy Bates, former DOD official Howard Ady and Army program officer for enterprise programs Kevin Carroll, all honored for their commitment to the government IT community.

Other IAC and ACT awards handed out during last week's Executive Leadership Conference in Hershey, Pa., include:

IAC Chairman's Award: Sara DeCarlo of Ninth House Inc.

Government Contributor of the Year: Scott Hastings of the Homeland Security Department Industry Contributors of the Year: Tricia Iveson of SI International Inc. of Reston, Va., and Anne Altman of IBM Corp.

Rookie of the Year: Sharon Payne of SPSS Inc. of Chicago.

What's your preoccupation outside the job? Tell and appear in Personal Space.

inside gcn

  • cloud video processing

    Sprocket kicks video processing into high gear

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group