NGA meets new ISO standards

The National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency has become the first organization in either the public or private sector to become certified in three of the International Standards Organization's standards: ISO 9001, ISO 15000 and ISO 27001.

ISO 9001 is a set of global management standards to provide services consistently. ISO 15000 is a British standard that defines the requirements for an organization to deliver IT service management to customers. ISO 27001 is an internationally recognized methodology for evaluating, implementing, maintaining and managing information security.

NGA is responsible for providing imagery and geospatial information of physical features and geographically referenced activities on Earth, and exploiting and analyzing that information. As a Defense Department combat support agency, the accuracy and timeliness of NGA's information is critical.

Pursuing the ISO certifications required NGA to develop processes, procedures and performance metrics that the agency uses to run its networks and data centers within the Enterprise Operations Directorate, which handles NGA's IT infrastructure. The E Directorate handles day-to-day systems operations and leverages technology to operate the National System for Geospatial Intelligence.

inside gcn

  • When cybersecurity capabilities are paid for, but untapped

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group