DiPentima honored with Mendenhall award

WILLIAMSBURG, Va. ' Renny DiPentima has long been considered the dean of the IT community. He was one of the first CIOs in the government, at the Social Security Administration, and helped launch the federal CIO Council.

DiPentima retired after 32 years in government and began working for SRA Inc. of Fairfax, Va., and quickly established his open-door policy to advise current and former federal officials.

For his dedication to improving the IT community, the American Council for Technology and the Industry Advisory Council bestowed the 2006 Janice K. Mendenhall Spirit of Leadership award last night to DiPentima at the Executive Leadership Conference.

'Renny exemplifies the A in IAC,' said Bob Suda, associate CIO for the Agriculture Department, who presented DiPentima with the award. 'He treats everyone with respect, importance and fairness.'

DiPentima was surprised by the award. 'I'm a very lucky person having spent 32 years at an agency I love and still do,' he said after accepting the award. 'I made a wise decision to change one letter and join SRA. I work with a superb group of people that have allowed me to lead them.'

DiPentima joins other recipients, including Howard Ady, a former Defense Department executive, Sandy Bates, a former General Services Administration commissioner of the Federal Technology Service and the Army's Kevin Carroll.

IAC/ACT also handed out five other awards:

Rookie of the Year: Carey Bandler, Fsona Systems Ltd. of McLean, Va.

Government Contributor of the Year: Ira Hobbs, Treasury CIO

Industry Contributor of the Year: John Okay, J.L. Okay Consulting of Oak Hill, Va.

Conference Chairman Awards: Gary Wetterhall, Army, and Bruce McConnell, McConnell and Associates of Washington.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards - https://governmentinnovationawards.com

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected