Homeland Security Committee chairman to announce new subcommittee heads

Rep. Bennie G. Thompson, D-Miss., the new Democratic chairman of the House Homeland Security Committee, is creating new subcommittees for border security and transportation and eliminating panels overseeing economic security and protection against nuclear attacks.

Thompson announced the reorganization on the committee's Web site on Jan. 11. He is expected to name the subcommittee chairpersons this week.

The committee's six subcommittees are:
  • Border, Maritime and Global Counterterrorism;
  • Emergency Communications, Preparedness and Response;
  • Transportation Security and Infrastructure Protection;
  • Intelligence, Information Sharing and Terrorism Risk Assessment;
  • Emerging Threats, Cybersecurity and Science and Technology; and,
  • Management, Investigations and Oversight.
New areas of emphasis include border, maritime and global counterterrorism, emergency communications, emergency response, transportation security and emerging threats.

Two former subcommittees were focused on economic security and prevention of nuclear and biological attack. Thompson merged the management and investigations subcommittees, and left the intelligence subcommittee unchanged.

Alice Lipowicz is a staff writer for Government Computer News' affiliate publication, Washington Technology.

About the Author

Alice Lipowicz is a staff writer covering government 2.0, homeland security and other IT policies for Federal Computer Week.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards - https://governmentinnovationawards.com

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected