CIO Council updates core competencies

The CIO Council added five new job descriptions and updated the one for IT security/ information assurance in the latest version of the Clinger-Cohen Act Core Competencies list.

The Council's IT Workforce Committee late last year issued the new version, which needs to be updated every two years, according to the 1996 law, to broaden the baseline IT management knowledge and skills required for a CIO's staff.

In addition to the new core competencies, the committee also put out a 60-page set of learning objectives.

The IT Workforce Committee, which received assistance from 13 agencies and academics from the Defense Department's Information Resources Management College, added to the core competency list:
  • IT portfolio management;
  • Records management;
  • Software acquisition management;
  • Technology management and assessment; and
  • Cross-boundary process collaboration.
The committee also enhanced the information security/information assurance competencies to include new legislative requirements, standards and an increased emphasis on earned-value management and information sharing.

The core competencies and learning objectives 'will be used as the foundation for IT course and curricula development as well as the development and consistent implementation of IT workforce policy initiatives across the federal government,' the CIO Council said.


  • business meeting (Monkey Business Images/

    Civic tech volunteers help states with legacy systems

    As COVID-19 exposed vulnerabilities in state and local government IT systems, the newly formed U.S. Digital Response stepped in to help. Its successes offer insight into existing barriers and the future of the civic tech movement.

  • data analytics (

    More visible data helps drive DOD decision-making

    CDOs in the Defense Department are opening up their data to take advantage of artificial intelligence and machine learning tools that help surface insights and improve decision-making.

Stay Connected