IBM's z/OS gets certified

IBM's zSeries/Operating System Version 1 Release 8.0 has received augmented Evaluation Assurance Level 4 Common Criteria certification, following an evaluation of z/OS V1R8.0 by Atsec Information Security Corp.

The EAL 4+ certification of z/OS V1R8.0, IBM's flagship operating system, successfully concludes the world's largest and most complex operating system evaluation, according to Austin, Texas-based Atsec. The Security Target listing the specific functions covered by the evaluation are posted on Atsec's Common Criteria evaluations page, the company said.

The EAL 4+ certification of z/OS V1R8.0 includes more security functions than several earlier evaluations of the z/OS platform performed by Atsec and represents a format of the operating system that customers would typically install and operate, Atsec said.

Common Criteria is an internationally standardized framework for matching end-user security requirements with vendor product specifications. For the U.S., the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security Policy No. 11 mandates that agencies use Common Criteria-evaluated equipment and software for networks carrying sensitive information.

inside gcn

  • data wrangler

    Data wrangling: How data goes from raw to refined

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group