Citrix Password Manager achieves EAL 2 Certification

Citrix Systems Inc.'s Citrix Password Manager July 7 received Common Criteria Certification Evaluation Assurance Level 2 (EAL 2) certification from Britain's Information Technology Security Evaluation and Certification Scheme, the United Kingdom's issuing body for Common Criteria certification.

The British authority based its approval on an independent evaluation by the Communications-Electronics Security Group (CESG), according to Citrix.

Certification at EAL 2 by the United Kingdom's Common Criteria evaluation body gives the product the identical status in the United States because the Common Criteria certification process calls for mutual international recognition of EAL certification by an accredited facility at levels up to EAL 4.

With EAL 2 certification, Citrix's Password Manager, part of the company's Citrix Presentation Server Version 4.5, Platinum Edition, can be used in secure government environments for accessing password-protected desktops, Web and host-based applications with a single sign on, according to the company.

Common Criteria is an internationally standardized framework for matching end-user security requirements with vendor product specifications. For the U.S., the National Security Telecommunications and Information Systems Security Policy No. 11 mandates that agencies use Common Criteria-evaluated equipment and software for networks carrying sensitive information.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected