DOD Standardization Office issues achievement awards

Projects to standardize information technology systems and processes figured prominently in the annual achievement awards issued by the Defense Standardization Program Office for outstanding contributions to the Defense Department during fiscal year 2007.

Since 1987, the office has issued the annual awards to recognize individuals and organizations that have achieved significant improvement in quality, reliability, readiness, cost reduction, and interoperability through standardization.
Of the three individuals recognized this year, all contributed to the standardization of IT, and were:
  • Engineer James Todd, the Army's program manager for training devices in its Program Executive Office, Simulation, Training, and Instrumentation, Fla., for his instrumental role in the development and implementation of standards for the Future Army Systems Integrated Target.
  • Jack Mills, director at the Naval Air Systems Command, Fleet Readiness Center, Executive Information Systems Division, for implementing a standardized structure and process for software development and life-cycle management of the Naval Air Systems Command's Depot Maintenance System.
  • Thomas Hess, electronics engineer at the Defense Supply Center-Columbus for outstanding contributions to revisions of the military performance specification for microcircuits, addressing the current engineering and technical needs of the space community, military agencies, and DOD equipment manufacturers.

Of five teams recognized, two involved IT and included:
  • The Naval Air Systems Command, DOD Standard Terminal Automation Replacement System (STARS) Operation Support Facility (OSF), which implementing lessons learned and applied standardized processes and procedures to provide OSF support to the entire STARS community faster and with fewer resources than using a separate OSF for each service. Members of that team include Kathi Chesser, Adam Osborne Jr., Mark Minik, Kenneth Cole and Michael Corrigan.

  • The Defense Supply Center-Columbus in the Defense Logistics Agency, which improved power ratings for standard chip resistors by overhauling the military performance specification to incorporate improved power ratings. Members of the joint Army/DLA team included Andrew Ernst, Jeffrey Zern, and Jeffrey Carver.


  • Records management: Look beyond the NARA mandates

    Pandemic tests electronic records management

    Between the rush enable more virtual collaboration, stalled digitization of archived records and managing records that reside in datasets, records management executives are sorting through new challenges.

  • boy learning at home (Travelpixs/

    Tucson’s community wireless bridges the digital divide

    The city built cell sites at government-owned facilities such as fire departments and libraries that were already connected to Tucson’s existing fiber backbone.

Stay Connected