IDS/IPS software gets Common Criteria certification

Third Brigade Deep Security, an intrusion detection and prevention system, has gotten Common Criteria certification, making it the first IDS/IPS to get Evaluation Assurance Level 3+ certification, the company said.

Overseen in the United States by the National Information Assurance, Common Criteria is a set of security requirements set by government agencies and private companies. To get their products certified, vendors provide a set of security attributes for each product, which are verified by an independent laboratory.

The Defense Department uses the Common Criteria as a baseline for purchasing information technology products for secure networks. NIAP is a partnership between the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the National Security Agency.

DOMUS IT Security Laboratory conducted the evaluation of Deep Security, which took 15 months to complete. Version 5 of the product was tested.

Third Brigade Deep Security is host-based IDS/IPS software. A host-based IDS inspects server audit logs for any suspicious behavior and filters network traffic for only pre-approved interactions. Deep Security can audit multiple operating systems and types of server software, including e-mail, Web application, Domain Name Server and others.

About the Author

Joab Jackson is the senior technology editor for Government Computer News.


  • business meeting (Monkey Business Images/

    Civic tech volunteers help states with legacy systems

    As COVID-19 exposed vulnerabilities in state and local government IT systems, the newly formed U.S. Digital Response stepped in to help. Its successes offer insight into existing barriers and the future of the civic tech movement.

  • data analytics (

    More visible data helps drive DOD decision-making

    CDOs in the Defense Department are opening up their data to take advantage of artificial intelligence and machine learning tools that help surface insights and improve decision-making.

Stay Connected