Security appliance is Common Criteria certified

The AppGate Security Server appliance has been awarded Common Criteria certification.

The AppGate Security Server appliance bundles common network security elements such as authentication, authorization, encryption, access control, client control, monitoring and reporting.

Germany's Federal Office for Information Security certified version 8.0.4 of the AppGate Security Server at Evaluation Assurance Level 2+. Common Criteria testing firm Atsec Information Security evaluated the product over a period of 18 months, according to AppGate.

Overseen in the United States by the National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP), Common Criteria is an internationally recognized set of security requirements set by government agencies and private companies. To get their products certified, vendors provide a set of security attributes for each product, which are verified by an independent laboratory.

The Defense Department uses the Common Criteria as a baseline for purchasing information technology products for secure networks. NIAP is a partnership between the National Institute of Standards and Technology and National Security Agency.

About the Author

Joab Jackson is the senior technology editor for Government Computer News.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.