Symantec products Common Criteria-certified

Symantec access control and security packages get Evaluation Assurance Level 2 certification

A pair of Symantec security packages have been certified under Common Criteria, the company announced this week.

Symantec's Endpoint Protection (version 11) and Network Access Control (version 11) have achieved Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 2 (EAL-2).

Symantec Endpoint Protection, which can be used for laptop and desktop PCs and servers, is a security suite featuring antivirus, firewall and intrusion-detection programs. Symantec Network Access Control provides a security mechanism for allowing individuals on a network.

Overseen in the United States by National Information Assurance Partnership (NIAP), Common Criteria is an ISO-recognized set of security requirements established by government agencies and private companies. To have their products certified, vendors must provide a set of security attributes for each product, which an independent laboratory verifies.

The Defense Department uses the Common Criteria as a baseline for buying information technology products for secure networks. NIAP is a partnership between the National Institute of Standards and Technology and the National Security Agency.

EAL-2 of the Common Criteria scheme addresses product functionality, the development environment, documentation and product testing measures.

About the Author

Joab Jackson is the senior technology editor for Government Computer News.

inside gcn

  • power grid (elxeneize/

    Electric grid protection through low-cost sensors, machine learning

Reader Comments

Please post your comments here. Comments are moderated, so they may not appear immediately after submitting. We will not post comments that we consider abusive or off-topic.

Please type the letters/numbers you see above

More from 1105 Public Sector Media Group