Aruba wireless networks are EAL-2 certified

Aruba Networks Inc. announced that it is the first wireless local-are network supplier to be awarded a Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 2 (EAL-2) certificate for its wireless networks. The company's equipment also meets Federal Information Processing Standard (FIPS) 140-2 and Defense Department Directive 8100.2 requirements.

'Our indoor and outdoor adaptive wireless LANs have drawn considerable interest from prospective domestic and international users with high security requirements for whom FIPS 140-2 validation by itself is insufficient,' said Dave Logan, Aruba's general manager of federal solutions. 'These users require a combination of Common Criteria certification, FIPS 140-2 validation and Directive 8100.2 compliance. With these in hand we can bring the same mobility and efficiency benefits to high security users as we do to general enterprise customers.'

Two features in particular, Logan told GCN, make Aruba wireless networks especially secure: end-to-end encryption and segregation of user traffic. 'We are unique in that we provide firewalling capability directly in the mobility control software so that every user and the application software that they use is self-contained in its own logical partition on the wireless network and on the network itself,' Logan said. 'That's unlike traditional access points or traditional wireless networks were all traffic is commingled and there's no differentiation from one user to another.'

One example of why that matters, according to Logan, is temporary personnel at a military base. Thanks to that capability, visiting personnel can get access to their applications while base staff can trust that the traffic is segregated. 'It's a pretty powerful capability,' he added.

More information

About the Author

Patrick Marshall is a freelance technology writer for GCN.


  • 2020 Government Innovation Awards
    Government Innovation Awards -

    21 Public Sector Innovation award winners

    These projects at the federal, state and local levels show just how transformative government IT can be.

  • Federal 100 Awards
    cheering federal workers

    Nominations for the 2021 Fed 100 are now being accepted

    The deadline for submissions is Dec. 31.

Stay Connected