National Medal of Technology and Innovation winners named

President Bush and Commerce Secretary Carlos Gutierrez have announced the 2007 winners of the nation's highest technological and scientific honor, the National Medal of Technology and Innovation.

Bush will present the six individuals and representatives of two corporations with their medals at a White House ceremony on Sept. 29.

The winners in the information technology arena are:
  • Paul Baran, of Atherton, Calif., who invented the packet switching technology that made the Internet possible.
  • David Cutler, of Medina, Wash., who made fundamental contributions to computer architecture, compilers, operating systems and software engineering through his design and implementation of global standards for real-time, personal and server-based operating systems.
  • eBay, of San Jose, Calif., for its pioneering online trade technology, which fostered global entrepreneurship and worldwide Internet growth.
  • C. Grant Willson, of Austin, Texas, who created novel lithographic imaging materials and techniques that enabled the manufacture of smaller, faster and more efficient microelectronic components.

Congress created the National Medal of Technology and Innovation in 1980, and the president has presented the awards since 1985. An independent committee appointed by the secretary of commerce evaluates the candidates through an open, competitive solicitation process. The committee forwards its choices to the secretary, who makes recommendations to the president for the final decisions.

About the Author

Kathleen Hickey is a freelance writer for GCN.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.