Security apps get Common Criteria nod

Fortinet's FortiOS 3.0 firmware has been certified at Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4 Augmented (EAL 4+). The firmware is part of the company's application-specific integrated circuit (ASIC)-based FortiGate unified threat management appliance that includes firewall, antivirus, intrusion protection and virtual private networking. EWA-Canada conducted the evaluation.

A data-leakage prevention appliance from Fidelis has also been certified, at Common Criteria certification Level 2, with the vendor promising to offer an ALC_FLR.3-level systematic flaw remediation. The Fidelis Extrusion Prevention System (XPS) is an appliance that inspects traffic leaving a network for any sensitive information. SAIC Common Criteria Testing Laboratory certified version 5.0.3 of the appliance.

About the Author

Joab Jackson is the senior technology editor for Government Computer News.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.