Microsoft Mobile products EAL-4 certified

Government agencies will now have access to three Microsoft mobile products that have been certified for Common Criteria Evaluation Assurance Level 4 (EAL-4), assuring government customers that mobile workers can securely access sensitive data on information networks.

Microsoft's EAL-4 certified products are Windows Mobile 6.1, System Center Mobile Device Manager 2008, and System Center Mobile Device Manager 2008 Service Pack 1. Mobile Device Manager 2008 enables enhanced control of Windows Mobile 6.1 devices. System Center Mobile Device Manager 2008 SP1 supports large-scale deployments of Mobile Device Manager.

The products also are accepted under the Common Criteria Recognition Arrangement, composed of members from 25 countries worldwide, including the United States.

Agencies using Windows Mobile units include the Homeland Security and Commerce departments, as well as the Army, Air Force and Marines.

Using these Mobile solutions, for example, will enable 2 million users of the Army’s enterprise Web portal, Army Knowledge Online, to access and send e-mail messages securely via Windows Mobile devices.

Other government uses for Microsoft’s mobile devices include ballistic calculators, detecting roadside explosive devices and handhelds for the 2010 census, according to Randy Siegel, telecommunications and mobile strategist at Microsoft.

About the Authors

Kathleen Hickey is a freelance writer for GCN.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.