Three take AFCEA Outstanding Achievement awards

Winners represent civilian, defense and industry sectors

Three executives from the civilian, defense and industry sectors took home AFCEA Outstanding Achievement Awards for Executives at a luncheon in Washington, D.C. today.

The AFCEA Bethesda Chapter presented outstanding achievement awards to:

  • Roger Baker, Assistant Secretary for Information and Technology, and Chief Information Officer with the Office of the Deputy Secretary for the Department of Veterans Affairs
  • David Wennergren, Deputy Assistant Secretary of Defense for Information Management and Technology, and Deputy CIO for the DOD
  • Teresa Carlson, vice president of U.S. Federal Government for Microsoft Corp.

The Outstanding Achievement Awards for Civilian and DOD executives are given to federal government leaders who exemplify outstanding management to achieve government-wide efficiencies and program effectiveness. The Industry award is presented to the person who shows proven leadership to deliver demonstrable results to citizens and government

Additionally, AFCEA Bethesda’s Government-wide Initiatives Excellence Awards are presented to individuals or group of individuals who have made outstanding contributions to activities that are significant beyond their agency or organization.

Awards were given to agencies and individuals for cloud computing, data sharing efforts to protect the homeland and environment, governance, health information technology, human capital and workforce, information technology security, social media in civilian government and DOD, and technological collaboration.

Men and women in government IT are “working extremely hard in the interest of the American public and for the good of the country,” Steve Krauss president of the AFCEA Bethesda Chapter. As a result, AFCEA Bethesda is proud to recognize them for their contributions, he said.

Baker, who has held positions both in the public and private sectors, was honored for his leadership in helping to change how the VA handles and deals with veterans – making sure that they are taken care of from the start of their careers to their resting place, said Art Chantker, vice president of AFECE Bethesda’s Awards Program.

Baker manages and organization of over 7.500 IT professionals and a budget of over $3.3 billion. He advised government employees to help break the bureaucracy that hampers the efficient running of government.

The world is changing so rapidly and the power of information sharing and security are becoming more imperative, David Wennergren told the audience. Service orientation and Web 2.0 will be key factors to help usher in this change, he noted, adding that “we are passing the torch to the next generation.”

Other recipients of Outstanding Achievement Awards included

Data Sharing – Protecting the Homeland

Department of Homeland Security ICE Team: Secure Communities, Interoperability Team

Data Sharing – Protecting the Environment

Pat Garvey, Task Order Project Officer, Office of Environmental Information, Environmental Protection Agency


Michael Wood, Director, Recovery and Accountability Transparency Board, Department of Treasury and James Warren, Chief Information Officer, Recovery and Accountability Transparency Board, Department of Treasury

Health Information Technology

Dr. Theresa Cullen, Chief Information Officer, Indian Health Service, Department of Health and Human Services

Cloud Computing

Casey Coleman, Chief Information Officer, General Services Administration

Human Capital and Workforce

Dr. Robert Childs, Senior Director, Information Resources Management College, National Defense University

Information Technology Security

Jerry Davis, Deputy Chief Information Officer for IT Security, NASA

Social Media – Civilian Government

Curtis Burns (Blogger Bob), Public Affairs New Media Program Analyst, Transportation Security Administration, Department of Homeland Security

Social Media – DOD

Patrick Conway, Chief Knowledge Officer, U.S. Army Combined Arms Support Command

Technological Collaboration

DHS/CBP Team: Secure Freight Initiative

Phil Landfried, Executive Director, Targeting & Analysis Systems Program Office, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, Department of Homeland Security; Team Members: Jim McLaughlin, Kevin Delvecchio, and David Neuhart.

About the Author

Rutrell Yasin is is a freelance technology writer for GCN.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.