GCN Awards Gala
October 14, 2014
The Ritz-Carlton | Tysons Corner

On October 14, Government and Industry executives gathered to celebrate the GCN award winners for outstanding IT achievement in the Federal and State & Local technology community. It was a night dedicated to those working across government when demands for high performance, security and a clear return on investment have never been greater. Enjoy pictures from this widely attended event below.

2014 Winners

Hall of Fame

Michael Krieger

Department of the Army

Michael Krieger has led the Army toward a secure, digital, networked future. Since becoming Army deputy chief Information officer/G-6 in July 2008, he has worked tirelessly to create a strategic direction for the Army’s network and enterprise infrastructure. Read more.


Government IT Executive of the Year

Doug Wolfe

Central Intelligence Agency

CIA chief information officer Doug Wolfe ushers in an era of cloud computing to the intelligence community, offering powerful new tools for rapid data integration and analytics. Read more.


Industry IT Executive of the Year

Tony Cole


FireEye Vice President and Global Government CTO, Tony Cole, guides agencies in next-gen cyber warfare, developing responses and approaches to a new generation of motivated hackers equipped with increasingly sophisticated cyber attacks. Read more.


GCN Award Winners

Commercial Cloud PAO under DOD Security Model

Navy Space and Naval Warfare Systems Command (SPAWAR)


Electronic Protective Order System

Alamance County, N.C., MIS /Administrative Office of the Courts


FEMA Risk MAP (Mapping, Assessment and Planning)

FEMA Risk Analysis Division


Integrated Enterprise Portal Program

Internal Revenue Service



New York City Department of Transportation, IT & Telecom


KC-10 Load Management System

USAF Air Mobility Command


Kynect: Kentucky’s Healthcare Connection

Kentucky Cabinet for Health and Family Services


Mobile Testing & Security for Military Field Operations

NIST Computer Security & Intelligent Systems divisions


Navy Yard Headquarters Relocation

Naval Sea Systems Command


Strategic Offender Management System

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation


Honorable Mentions

Children’s Services Data Integration and Analysis

Virginia Office of Comprehensive Services


Enterprise Management Decision Support

Department of the Army


Medicaid Eligibility System

Florida Department of Children and Families


National Intrepid Center of Excellence Continuity Management Tool

Defense Health Agency



U.S. Department of Agriculture


Ongoing Authorization Implementation

Department of Homeland Security Information Security Office


Property Book Unit Supply Enhanced Upgrade

Army Communications-Electronics Command Software Engineering Center


Cargo Export Systems

DHS / Customs and Border Protection


Transforming to a Cloud-Based Shared Services IT Organization

California Natural Resources Agency


Washington Healthplanfinder

Washington State Health Benefit Exchange


For more information about this year’s winners and the honorable mentions category, please visit:



Rising Stars

Murtaza Ahmed

Lockheed Martin


Rebecca S. Ayers

Office of Personnel Management


Kelli Bell

NAVSEA, NSW, Department of the Navy


Brent Bensten



Matthew Berninger

US-CERT, Department of Homeland Security


Damon Bragg

Department of Homeland Security


Cristen Cole

Federal Systems Integration and Management Center, General Services Administration


Shawn Garrow

Department of the Navy


Michael Gross

Office of Inspector General, U.S. Postal Service


Isaiah Joo

Office of eDiplomacy, Department of State


Emily "Millie" Maksymiuk

GovSmart Inc.


Nina Malakouti

General Services Administration


Christina Manol

PEO EIS, Department of the Army


Tanusree McCabe

Blackstone Technology Group


Farrell O'Neill

RIVA Solutions, Inc.


Jon Quandt

Government Printing Office


Kent Reynolds



Benjamin Rhodeside

Office of Congressman Gerald E. Connolly (VA-11)


Larissa Riviezzo

PEO EIS, Department of the Army


Megan Schmith

Office of the Chief Information Officer, General Services Administration


Zach Scott

Environmental Protection Agency


Ngoc Vu

Securities and Exchange Commission


Shawn Wells

Red Hat


Peter Wilson

ICF International


For more information about this year’s Rising Stars, please visit: