cyber cloud certification

New cloud security certification debuts

Agencies struggling to find staff experienced in both security and cloud infrastructure now can look to a new certification from (ISC)² and the Cloud Security Alliance that will help ensure that IT workers have the knowledge and skills to audit, assess and secure cloud infrastructures.

The Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP) designation establishes an international standard for professional-level knowledge in the design, implementation, security and management of cloud environments, according to the organizations.

Cloud computing was identified as the top area of information security with growing demand for education and training within the next three years, according to the 2015 (ISC)² Global Information Security Workforce Study.  The CCSP credential validates practical skills applicable to those professionals whose day-to-day responsibilities involve cloud security architecture, design, operations and service orchestration. It is intended for professionals who are heavily involved in cloud security via roles that are accountable for protecting enterprise architectures.

“It’s essential to have qualified IT professionals in both government and private industry who understand how cloud services need to be securely implemented and managed within their organizations,” said (ISC)² Executive Director David Shearer.

 “As agencies consider cloud models instead of traditional IT architecture to achieve greater agility and cost efficiency, cloud expertise will become a vital business capability,” Cloud Security Alliance CEO Jim Reavis said. “CCSP helps to set the highest standard for cloud security expertise. Both professionals and organizations can benefit from the power of cloud computing while securing data, applications and users across the entire IT and information security ecosystem.”

To attain CCSP, applicants must have a minimum of five years of experience in IT, of which three must be in information security and one in cloud computing. All candidates must be able to demonstrate capabilities in each of six domains:

  • Architectural concepts and design requirements
  • Cloud data security
  • Cloud platform and infrastructure security
  • Cloud application security
  • Operations
  • Legal and compliance

The CCSP exam will be available at PearsonVUE testing centers worldwide beginning July 21, 2015.

About the Author

Connect with the GCN staff on Twitter @GCNtech.

Stay Connected

Sign up for our newsletter.

I agree to this site's Privacy Policy.